In an incredible match that lasted more than three hours and brought the crowd of fans to their feet, Italian Bianca Turati defeated 17-year-old American Katie Volynets to win the Oracle Pro Series – Malibu at Pepperdine University. After dropping the first set, Turati, who plays collegiately at the University of Texas, fought back to take the next two 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 and capture her third ITF singles title of the year.

“Firstly I want to congratulate Katie Volynets,” said Bianca after the match. “She is an amazing player of course. But she plays as cleverly as anyone I have competed against and she is a tremendous competitor and fighter. After this grueling match I have learned that the way to keep improving is the be challenged outside of my comfort in matches like today.”

And challenged, she was. On her run to the final, she did not drop a set or even lose more than five games per match, but Volynets’ consistency and tennis IQ forced her to come up with her best tennis of the week.

“I am looking at this match as a great learning experience,” said Volynets. “I’m glad that I had the opportunity to play a competitor as amazing as Bianca and this will help me grow mentally and physically. It is safe to say that we both pushed each other very hard in every point of the match. I know that there are multiple places in the match where it could have gone either way and I have learned what I need to do to be the one to execute at those moments.”

On the men’s side, Germany’s Daniel Altmaier played spoiler, defeating former Pepperdine Wave Men’s Tennis star Alexander Sarkissian 6-2, 6-4.

“It’s tough playing these Oracle Pro Series tournaments,” said Altmaier. “Everybody can play good tennis, especially the college players. They are all very good competitors, and every match you have to be ready.”

The doubles finals, which took place on Saturday, saw Alejandro Gomez (COL) and Israel Alexander Ore (USA) defeat American duo Austin Rapp and Martin Redlicki 6-3, 6-7(14), 10-7 and Dalma Galfi (HUN) and Kimberly Zimmerman (BEL) take the title over Lorraine Guillermo (USA) and Anna Hertel (POL).